Figment’s Outing

June 3, 2016.  I go several times a year to Red Corral Ranch with a group sponsored by Seton Cove – each a day of reflection; each preceded by a request to bring something for the altar relating to the upcoming day’s focus.  Often the focus defies concrete symbols.  And the recent focus on relationship with inner critic had me scratching my head … until suddenly Figment and a famous Rilke quote came to mind arm-in-arm.

Like me, Figment has faded a bit with age.  In 1982 I lived in South Florida and visited Epcot (a Disney World companion) on first opening.  Most impressive at the time and certainly most memorable was Kodak’s walk-through.  A large elusive purple dragon appeared here and there along the way:  Figment (of imagination).  I came home with my smaller-but-tangible Figment, intended I suppose as a child’s toy (bearing the Disney copyright).   A child at heart, I loved Figment at first sight.

For a number of years, Figment has perched atop a cabinet, overseeing my annual intention mandala.  Indeed, my intentions are my most valuable treasures.  Indeed, they have a dragon guardian.  This image is of Figment returned to post following the Red Corral outing – where he posed adorably on the altar.  (Where is it written an inner critic must be grumpy?)

PostSignature

Post_2016-06-03_Image_FigmentOnGuard

Post_2016-06-03_Poem_FigmentOuting

7 thoughts on “Figment’s Outing

  1. He’s precious, Jazz, on so many levels. I’ve not heard of him until now (I suppose I have a Disney Deprivation Dysfunction — there’s a dysfunction for everything today, after all). Kibitzing aside, though, it’s a joy to meet him. And read another Jazz poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Mary Jo – I don’t think I’ve ever seen Figment anywhere outside Epcot – the figure was developed by Disney for Kodak. I don’t even know if there’s still such a display at Epcot – it’s been over 20 years! The “vision” is still strong within me, though, and my little treasure (faded or not) is a keeper. Glad to share the “outing”.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

